The Milk Lounge

Iron & Wine: The Shepard's Dog

Bible Belt born and raised musician Sam Beam has shaken the modern folk music scene with his voice and guitar which combine to form "blog dominating" LPs and EPs. It seems as if the world cannot get enough of Sam Beam. Having already pressed fifteen other records (EPs, Singles, and LPs) Mr. Beam has once again put aside his plans for world domination and decided to instead bring melodic, relaxing, tantalizing rhythms to our ears. The Shepard's Dog is a perfect combination of Sam's beautiful musical composition and soothing vocals. The album is a little more lyrically dark and upbeat than Our Endless Numbered Days and The Creek Drank the Cradle, Beam has said that although his album is not endorse any sort of political propaganda that it does in fact have some underlying themes of political confusion. As of now Iron & Wine is plagued with endless 8/10's at music super-site Pitchfork. This album will hopefully bring a 9 to the review collection. Although its hard to claim a favorite album of any artist, especially one as diverse and broad as Iron & Wine, The Shepard's Dog will be enjoying its spot on my play list for quite some time.

Track Listing
1. Pagan Angel and a Borrowed Car
2. White Tooth Man
3. Lovesong of the Buzzard
4. Carousel
5. House by the Sea
6. Innocent Bones
7. Wolves (Song of the Shepherd's Dog)
8. Resurrection Fern
9. Boy With a Coin
10.The Devil Never Sleeps
11.Peace Beneath the City
12.Flightless Bird, American Mouth

Find more music by this artist at The Hype Machine.
Purchase Iron & Wine music, from the official website.


0 Responses to “Iron & Wine: The Shepard's Dog”

Post a Comment

      • Subscribe

© 2007 The Milk Lounge